Wednesday, 15 March 2017

Evie's Year of taking Chances - Christie Barlow

Evie's Year of taking Chances
by Christie Barlow

About the book...
It’s Evie’s birthday and the start of a year she’ll never forget. An emotional story of love, friendship and grabbing life by the horns.

Evie’s job has always been her safe haven. As a librarian in the little town of Becton she loses herself in books - after all it’s far easier to read about other people’s problems than set about solving her own.

Then, one birthday, everything is turned upside down. A mysterious parcel containing a beautiful book with a poignant inscription arrives for Evie. It’s the beginning of a new chapter for Evie and she’s inspired to try and find her real mother. 

Evie’s search leads her to meet handsome author Noah Jones. Charming and intelligent, Noah seems the perfect catch but what Evie doesn’t realise is that he is hiding something – a key to Evie’s past. 

As Evie gets closer to Noah and discovering her mother, she must take a giant leap of faith. Can she embrace the new and make this her year of taking chances? And if she does, will she get her heart broken? 


A romantic, funny and poignant story of living life to the full and finding love in the most unlikely of places. Fans of Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley will adore this book!

Buy Links:
UK  🇬🇧http://amzn.to/2j4p7jt 

About the author...
Christie Barlow was born in Cheshire and had a successful career as a civil servant until she decided to trade it in for something more glamorous: ironing, mucking out chickens and horses and chasing a mad cocker spaniel while rearing four children. Christie wrote her debut novel, A Year in the Life of a Playground Mother, as an example to her kids about realising their dreams.

Connect with Christie Barlow:


My thoughts...
I was given an ecopy of this book by Bookouture, Christie Barlow's publishers in exchange for an honest review - something which I'm more than happy to give.

Once again, Christie Barlow has written a book that is full of delightful characters that are interwoven into a local community. The story is about the ups and downs of family life, friendship and relationships. Evie, the main character in this book works in her local library and is an out and out book worm, losing herself in the lives of the many characters she reads about.  She works with her best friend Clara and until her recent retirement, her foster mother Irene.  Evie was given up at birth and knows nothing of her birth parents.  Although sharing a very close bond with her foster mother she can't help but wonder about her birth mother - with each passing birthday the urge to try and find her gets stronger.

Christie described the emotions and process that Evie goes through in her search for her mother with empathy and compassion - the roller coaster of emotions is shared by her close friends and family as they support and encourage her in her journey to find her mother and to take a chance on love too. Add a book group held at a gorgeous cafe owned by Mim, a stripper and a hunky author and Evie's Year of Taking Chances has the recipe for success.

All in all, despite the highly emotive central story this was a light, frothy book that does what it says on the tin.  An easy read that gives exactly what you'd expect from a modern chic lit author.  It's the sort of book that is quite predictable but in a good way.  Sometimes we need that fix and to know we are going to get a happy ending. A perfect story for an afternoon curled up on the sofa beside the fire. It's equally balanced with humour and seriousness.

Follow the rest of the tour...