Friday, 27 January 2017

White Lies and Wishes - Cathy Bramley

White Lies and Wishes
by Cathy Bramley


Buy Link:

About the book...
What happens when what you wish for is only half the story...?

Flirtatious, straight-talking Jo Gold says she’s got no time for love; she’s determined to save her family’s failing footwear business.

New mother Sarah Hudson has cut short her maternity leave to return to work. She says she’ll do whatever it takes to make partner at the accountancy firm.

Bored, over-eating housewife Carrie Radley says she just wants to shift the pounds – she’d love to finally wear a bikini in public.

The unlikely trio meet by chance one winter’s day, and in a moment of ‘Carpe Diem’ madness, embark on a mission to make their wishes come true by September.
Easy. At least it would be, if they hadn’t been just the teensiest bit stingy with the truth…
With hidden issues, hidden talents, and hidden demons to overcome, new friends Jo, Carrie and Sarah must admit to what they really, really want, if they are ever to get their happy endings.

A feel-good romantic comedy that's guaranteed to make you smile - perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

Your favourite authors have loved reading bestselling Cathy Bramley:
‘Delightfully warm with plenty of twists and turns’ Trisha Ashley
‘Engaging characters and a sweeping romance. This is delightful!’ Katie Fforde
‘A witty, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy’ Miranda Dickinson
‘The perfect romantic tale, to warm your heart and make you smile.’ Ali McNamara

About the author...
Cathy Bramley is the author of the bestselling romantic comedies Ivy Lane, Appleby Farm, Wickham Hall and The Plumberry School of Comfort Food (all four-part serialised novels) and Conditional Love. 

She lives in a Nottinghamshire village with her husband, two daughters and a dog.

Cathy loves to hear from her readers. 

You can get in touch via:


My thoughts...
It's no secret I'm a big fan of Cathy's and when I heard she had a new book coming out I waved my hand madly and was fortunate enough to receive an ARC for reviewing - huge thanks to Becky Hunter.

There are a handful of authors that I always pick up their latest book and read without even reading the blurb - from the very first book I read of Cathy Bramley's she was added to this list.  I had no idea what to expect with White Lies and Wishes and my expectations of a 'Cathy' book were met and then some.

Three women, Carrie, Jo and Sarah find themselves drawn together at the funeral of a mutual friends husband.  In my experience the normal conversations at funerals turn to our own lives and vowing not to put things off and fill our days because life is too short etc.  The girls chat and decide not to create a bucket list as such but to voice what their life wishes would be if they could be granted and agree to meet up to try and help support each other towards their goals.

This book is about the strength of friendship, how it's alright to aim for the impossible and that as we change and grow our hopes and dreams might change too and that is okay too.

The girls all tell each other their wishes but, it's soon very obvious that they haven't been entirely honest with either themselves or each other.  It isn't that they tell out and out lies more that they hold back.  It made me think, we all have an inbuilt need to protect ourselves laying your sole bare for others to see isn't easy - feeling mocked or having our ideas thought as stupid isn't top of anybodies list.

I loved the way that the girls true characters came out in the end - being drawn and repelled to each other like magnets.  There's always a mother type, the friend we know will sort our problems and point us back in the right direction - in this case it was Jo.  Although it has to be said she probably wouldn't have cast herself in the role - it's funny what others see in us that we don't.

As the story progressed they re-evaluated what they wanted from their wishes and surprisingly it wasn't always what they thought. I really loved the drive and determination of all three and when they each sat back, re-evaluated and went for their real dreams it was fab.

White Lies and Wishes made me think, how often do I open up and tell even my closest friends the whole story?   It also re-iterated something I already knew - friends , particularly close friends are important and friendship is two-way.

This is a book that makes you sit up and think, dreams are good but why not go for them, the reality might not be what you dreamt of, it could be better.  With the support of friends and family anything is possible.  I am going to suggest to my friends we put some wishes/goals in a jar and support each other to do them - such a fun positive way to start the year.

I can't recommend this book enough it was just lovely. Thank you Cathy for another book that I was sad to finish, characters that I could empathise with and a story that was up-lifting and thought provoking - you are the best :)