Tuesday, 29 May 2018

What Holly's Husband Did - Debbie Viggiano

What Holly's Husband Did
by
Debbie Viggiano

About the book… 
A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy with a twist that will make you gasp!

Holly Hart has been married for fifteen blissful years to hubby Alex. Well… if you don't count last Christmas, when she accidentally found a load of flirty texts on Alex's phone. But every marriage has its ups and downs and Alex had a perfectly reasonable explanation… so why can't Holly forget what she saw? 

With the help of best friends Jeanie and Caro, as well as their handsome neighbour Jack, Holly resolves to settle her mind once and for all with a bit of sneaky detective work. So what if her husband isn't exactly Brad Pitt? He's hers, and if someone else is trying to steal him she wants to know who... But the truth is way more shocking than Holly ever anticipated. Can Holly, let alone her marriage, ever recover from what she discovers?

A laugh-until-you-cry, feel-good novel from the bestselling author of Stockings and Cellulite. Perfect for fans of Tracy Bloom, Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes.


About the author… 
Prior to turning her attention to writing, Debbie Viggiano was, for more years than she cares to remember, a legal secretary. She lives with her Italian husband, a rescued puppy from Crete, and a very disgruntled cat. Occasionally her children return home from uni bringing her much joy...apart from their gifts of dirty laundry. 











Contact Links: 
Tweet @DebbieViggiano or 

My thoughts…
I received an ecopy of this book from Bookouture in exchange for an honest review.  This is something I'm more than happy to do.

I picked this up and settled in the garden for a quick read before carrying on with a few jobs.  Needless to say here we are today and the jobs still need finishing! What a delightful book, I smiled, gasped and howled out loud as Holly goes on a mission to get to the bottom of some sexy texting found the previous Christmas on her husband Alex's mobile phone.  He has a perfectly plausible, mmmmm - perhaps not quite plausible explanation for them.

Debbie has created characters that are totally engaging - I could clearly envisage them in my mind from the very beginning of the novel. Her two best friends Jeannie and Caro - exchanging gossip and advice over coffee and cake at every opportunity.  Their interactions are typical of lifelong friends who know each other  inside out, warts and all. Not afraid to dish out advice and ask the most prying questions of each others 'love life' and always have each others back.  Holly could rely on them, or could she?  A chance comment has her doubting the friendship of one of them - could she be the mysterious 'Queenie' - sender of sexy text messages to her husband - I gasped surely not?!

This is a light-hearted fun story with a serious subject at the heart of it - mis-trust, self doubt and jealousy send Holly hurtling down a path that portrays her as a completely bonkers, out of control harpy that was always just two steps from losing it totally. Mind you I would probably be doing time for murder now if ~I was married to the over-bearing, oaf she was married to - he was pompous and patronising beyond belief, then assumed the sweetness and light, butter wouldn't melt act.  The pompousness was definitely his more believable characteristic for me.

It was a perfect read for a sunny afternoon in the garden, I constantly chuckled at Holly - she was comedic without realising it, when she whipped out the empty Bolognese sauce jar hidden in her handbag from her husband (he didn't allow processed food in the house, everything had to be cooked from scratch) at the golf club and calmly asked for it to be put in the bin please whilst dying inside was hilarious, I nearly wet myself.  Anyone not a golfer will confirm that most golf-clubs are a little bit stuffy and pretentious and Holly was way out of her comfort zone here but styled it out with panache.  As she did on more than one subsequent occasion throughout the novel.

A throughly enjoyable read that does what it says on the tin, it made me laugh and chuckle throughout at Holly's antics and wouldn't hesitate to pick up another of Debbie's novels when I need a bit of light entertainment, an easy read that whisked me straight into Holly's world.

Follow the tour:

No comments:

Post a Comment