Thursday, 5 November 2015

The Little Bookshop on The Seine - Rebecca Raisin

About the book...
La Vie En Rose
Bookshop owner Sarah Smith has been offered the opportunity to exchange bookshops with her new Parisian friend for 6 months! And saying yes is a no-brainer – after all, what kind of a romantic would turn down a trip to Paris…for Christmas?
Even if it does mean leaving the irresistible Ridge Warner behind, Sarah’s sure she’s in for the holiday of a lifetime – complete with all the books she can read!
Imagining days wandering around Shakespeare & Co, munching on croissants, sipping café au laits and watching the snow fall on the Champs-Élysées Sarah boards the plane.
But will her dream of a Parisian Happily-Ever-After come true? Or will Sarah realise that the dream of a Christmas fairytale in the city of love isn’t quite as rosy in reality…


A deliciously feel-good Christmas romance perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Julia Williams

The Little Paris Collection:
The Little Bookshop on the Seine
The Little Antique Shop under the Eiffel Tower
The Little Perfume Shop off the Champs-Élysées

Also by Rebecca Raisin
The Gingerbread Café trilogy:
Christmas at the Gingerbread Café
Chocolate Dreams at the Gingerbread Café
Christmas Wedding at the Gingerbread Café
The Bookshop on the Corner
Secrets at the Maple Syrup Farm
Buy Links:-
Amazon UK  / Amazon US /  iBooks / Nook / Kobo / Sainsbury's
About the author...

Rebecca Raisin is a bibliophile. This love of books morphed into the desire to write them. She’s been widely published in various short-story anthologies, and in fiction magazines, and is now focusing on writing romance. The only downfall about writing about gorgeous men who have brains as well as brawn is falling in love with them – just as well they’re fictional. Rebecca aims to write characters you can see yourself being friends with. People with big hearts who care about relationships, and, most importantly, believe in true, once-in-a-lifetime love.


Follow her on:-
 Twitter: @jaxandwillsmum /  Facebook / Website rebeccaraisin.com

My thoughts...
I received an ecopy of this novel by Carina, Rebecca Raisins publisher in exchange for an honest review which I'm more than happy to give.

I make no secret of the fact that I love Rebecca's books and was hooked from the very first one 'Christmas at the Gingerbread Cafe'.  She has a writing style that is warm and inclusive and the stories wrap themselves around you like a warm hug.


The Little Bookshop on the Seine is the first in a series of books that Rebecca has set in Paris.  In lots of ways I could relate more to this story than her others as I know many of the locations mentioned reasonably well, it's a spit from England and I've visited many times as a child and then because my daughter lived just outside Paris for a couple of years I got to visit fairly frequently again.


Sarah, runs the Little Bookshop on the Corner in Ashford and is persuaded by her online friend and fellow bookshop owner Sophie to do a six month exchange and swap shops and homes.  The offer comes at a time when both girls need a lift, but for different reasons.  Sophie is escaping a broken heart and Sarah is lonely, her bookshop isn't doing as well as it could and decisions need to be made about what she does with her future.


With some trepidation, Sarah said good-bye to her friends, home and business and flew half way round the globe taking a risk but hoping for a huge adventure, a trip to lift her and make her see more clearly.


To say Paris and The Little Bookshop on The Seine were completely different to everything Sarah knew would be an understatement - she has come from a small town, a leisurely pace of life where everyone knows everyone and lands in Paris to the complete opposite.  Her new home and business are immense and within a couple of hours Sarah's head is spinning and she has been robbed of everything but the clothes she stood up in.



What a start!  This is another example of a storyline that runs deeper than the first of the Gingerbread books.  With this book Rebecca really gets under the skin of the main character Sarah.  A character I'd previously grown to know and love, she was so sweet and homely, instantly likeable and dreamy, always lost in the plots and characters of her latest read. Because of the impression I had of her it really was quite a shock to see her leave Ashford for Paris.  Such a brave thing to do for such a quiet, shy person. This book sees Sarah taken outside of her comfort zone, away from everything that she knows and she literally has to sink or swim.

This is a beautiful book that evoked many emotions.  Time and time again I felt for Sarah, she really did flounder, pushed way out of her comfort zone.  It was difficult at times to read how she was mocked and ridiculed by Sophie's staff who ran rings round her in more ways than one and I have to say Ridge really surprised me too. Many situations arose which pulled at my heart strings until gradually, through mistakes made, new friendships forged, she began to embrace the Parisian way of life and gradually found pockets of acceptance for herself.

The best part of the book was seeing Sarah gaining confidence and strengthening her mental attitude and resolve to life.  She really came into her own, emerging like a beautiful butterfly from a chrysalis.   Each knock and set-back driving her forward - to stand up for herself yet all the while retaining her kind, friendly, sweet nature.  

As you can imagine being set in Paris this book was as much of a sensory read as all the previous books set in and around the Gingerbread Cafe.  Wandering around the markets and shops of Paris with Sarah I found myself drooling - I literally could taste and smell the delicious goodies on offer - Rebecca your descriptive skills are second to none, once again I've gained pounds just reading your book.

I highly recommend this book, but more importantly this author.  Rebecca Raisin is a temptress of the highest order - only she would have me looking at flights and surfing the internet for unusual tea shops and cafes.  I so want to live inside her books, they provide the perfect amount of escapism - so thank you :)

No comments:

Post a Comment